4 Coasts of Galicia

Coasts of Galicia​

Table of Contents


Galicia  is one of the most famous regions in Spain and Europe. The capital of this autonomous community, which has a coastline on the Atlantic Ocean, is Santiago de Compostela. The coastal part of the region is divided into Rías Altas, Rías Baixas, Marina Lucense and the Death Coast. Galicia welcomes many tourists who visit the coast, the small authentic towns and, of course, its gastronomy.  Plus, it’s a lush, mountainous region with stunning coastlines, beautiful beaches, and a unique history.  Some of these coastlines are even world famous; That is why they are so popular and worth visiting. Although the most famous places are few, the Galician coast is full of little paradises to discover throughout the provinces of Lugo, A Coruña and Pontevedra.

Lucense Marine Coast

The Marina Lucense Coast is located in the province of Lugo, in the western part of the Bay of Biscay. It is divided into three districts: Marina Oriental, Marina Central and Marina Occidental. The coast is rocky and steep, with high cliffs and inland vegetation, and is formed by deep rivers such as the Ribadeo, the Foz and the Viverio.

The Beach of the Cathedrals is the most famous part and is known for its rock formations, which are classified as one of the most beautiful in Spain. Also known as Playa de las Aguas Santas or As Catedrais, this magnificent natural monument is located in the north of Galicia, specifically in the Marina Lucense, in the province of Lugo. The real name of the beach is Playa de Aguas Santas due to the strange quartzite and slate rock formations eroded by wind and water. Praia das Catedrais is a beach shaped by the sea and the wind, with caves, arches and natural flying buttresses. Its popularity is growing for its unique historical structure on the coast and many people visit it every year.

Coast of the Rias Altas

The Costa de las Rías Altas is the northeast strip of the coastline of the province of A Coruña and runs from the Ortigueira river to the port city of Ferrol. It is the largest estuary in the north between the coasts of Galicia that combines mountains, sea and rivers.

The Rías Altas form part of the Galician coastal region of northern Spain. They form the northern and northwestern part of the state of La Coruña and the entire coast of the state of Lugo, which borders Asturias to the east and Finisterre to the south. This area is incredibly beautiful: there are huge cliffs, beaches and coastlines.

Death Coast

Death Coast

The Costa da Morte, or Coast of Death, is located in the extreme northwest of Galicia. It extends west from Malpica to Muros. The nickname Coast of Death comes from the many shipwrecks that sank this rocky coastline in the early 20th century, giving it a dangerous reputation. A coast full of mystical and mythical legends, it is often associated with the Camino de Compostela, when the Romans saw the Costa da Morte as a passage to the afterlife. Seafood and fish served with Albariño, the local wine, is the cornerstone of the local gastronomy.

Coast of the Rias Baixas

The Rías Baixas region refers to the coastal area that stretches south from Muros to the Portuguese border. Four estuaries characterize this southwest coast of the Galician coasts: Muros and Noia, Arousa, Pontevedra and finally the Vigo estuary.

There are many beautiful beaches with white sand and turquoise waters; One of those famous beaches is the Lanzada beach, which has a small famous chapel on it called, Señora de la Lanzada. There is also the most famous island La Toxa, the most touristic and luxurious place in the area. Apart from some pretty coastal villages, Combarro is the most visited and surprising middle-aged village; It is made up of old granite houses, with narrow streets, facing the Ría de Pontevedra.